Home Travel Who are the GEM board of trustees?

Who are the GEM board of trustees?

Nada Tarek - May 2021

President AbdelFattah ElSisi issued a presidential order (Decree) on Monday, May 17 to form the Grand Egyptian Museum (GEM) Board of Trustees which will last for three consecutive years.


The Board will consist of Public Figures, International Personalities and Governmental figures. 


The nominated Public Figures are The TV Presenter Sherif Amer, Dr. Farouk ElOkda, Dr. Farouk Hosny, Archaeologist Zahy Hawas and Mr. Hisham Okasha.


The board of trustees also includes foreigners Personalities: The Japanese Deputy Prime Minister Tarō Asō, The Chairman of the Saudi Space Agency Prince Sultan bin Salman, and The Secretary-General of the World Tourism Organization Zurab Pololikashvili.


The Egyptian Government board members also are the minister of tourism and antiquities, minister of finance, and minister of culture in addition to The Director of Bibliotheca Alexandrina.



The Board of Trustees is chaired by the President with a membership of a maximum twenty personalities. 


The Council is specialized in approving the general policy and plans necessary for the museum. It also has the right to take necessary decisions to enable the museum body to fulfill its mission and carry out its work.


It is also concerned with supporting and following up the museum activities.



The GEM is located a few miles west of Cairo, near the pyramids of Giza. It is built to be the world's largest museum of archeology, accommodating 5 million visitors a year. 


In addition to the Museum's traditional role, it also offers commercial and entertainment services.

Subscribe to our newsletter.